Backing up Photos & Videos on iOS

The Photos tab in the iOS app is list of all photos on your account, plus all photos stored locally on your iOS device. They are all visible and sorted by time.

Jottacloud Photos can automatically back up local photos and videos to your Jottacloud accout where they are stored safely in their original quality and size.

How do I enable automatic backup on iOS?

To enable automatic backup of photos and videos you can press the "Enable" button located on the top of the Photos timeline:

Or you can go to Settings and enable "Auto-Upload":

Backing up for the first time on iOS

Backing up your photos for the first time can take a long time, depending on your network speed and the number of photos and videos stored on your phone.

To make the initial backup run faster we recommend the following steps:

  1. Connect your phone to a charger
  2. Connect your phone to a wifi-network
  3. Open Jottacloud Photos and enable backup
  4. Leave your phone unlocked (display turned on) with the Jottacloud Photos app open

iOS does not allow apps to transfer photos in the background for more than a few minutes, so it is important to keep the app open during initial backup.

You can observe the backup progress at the bottom of the Photos timelilne.

How do I know if a photo has been backed up?

When Jottacloud Photos discover a photo or video that has not been backed up, it displays a small badge that illustrate it is not stored in the cloud.

During backup, a spinning synchronize badge is displayed. Once the file has been safely backed up, this badge is removed.

How Jottacloud Photos work with iCloud Photo Library

Jottacloud Photos on iOS works with iCloud Photo Library. This means that we will back up ALL your photos. Even the ones you store on iCloud, if you have enabled iCloud Photo Library on your iOS device.

When you turn on iCloud Photo Library on your iOS device, Jottacloud Photos will display and back up all photos stored on your iCloud account.

Backup speed and network data usage will depend on what settings you have chosen for iCloud Photo Library. 

Optimise iPhone Storage means that Jottacloud Photos in some cases must download the original photo or video to the iOS device before it can back up the photo or video to your Jottacloud account.

Download and Keep Originals means the files are already stored on your iOS device. This makes backups in Jottacloud Photos faster.

Live Photo

Jottacloud Photos does not support back up of live photos on iOS. The original photo will be backed up, but not the animated live photo.

Deleting Photos - IMPORTANT

When you delete a photo in the Jottacloud Photos app, the photo(s) will be deleted from the iOS device AND your Jottacloud account. If you have iCloud Photo Library enabled on your iOS device, the photo(s) will also be deleted from the iCloud Photo Library.

When you Free Up Space in the Jottacloud Photos app, the photo(s) will be deleted from the iOS device AND iCloud Photo Library if that is enabled. The photo(s) will still be stored on you Jottacloud Account and visible in Jottacloud Photos.

Var denne artikkelen nyttig?
4 av 6 syntes dette var nyttig

Har du flere spørsmål?

Send en forespørsel

Kommentarer