Frigjør plass på iOS

Free Up Space lets you delete the local version of a photo or video, but keep it on your Jottacloud account in the cloud. 

Jottacloud Photos for iOS works with photos and videos stored locally on your iOS device, and photos and videos stored on your Jottacloud account in the cloud. In fact the photos displayed in the Photos tab is a merged list of both local and cloud photos. 

If a photo is not backed up, we display the local photo. If a photo is only stored in the cloud, we display the remote photo. If a photo is stored both locally on the device, and in the cloud, we always display the local version of the photo. This helps minimize network traffic.

We use caching and optimization techniques to ensure a great photo browsing experience regardless if the photo is stored locally or in the cloud.

How Free Up Space works

There are three ways to free up space on your iOS device:

  • Delete a photo or video outside the Jottacloud Photos app
  • Using the Free Up Space feature on a single photo or video
  • Using the Free Up Space feature on all photos and videos on the device

As always on iOS, you must empty the Photo trash bin in Apple´s built in Photo app to reclaim device storage space for deleted photos and videos. If you don't empty the photo trash bin manually, the storage space will be freed up after 30 days.

Delete a photo outside the Jottacloud Photos app

Deleting a photo (or video) from any other app outside the Jottacloud Photos app will not delete the photo from your Jottacloud account. The photo will still be visible inside the Jottacloud Photos app.

Using the Free Up Space feature on a single photo

To free up space for a specific photo or video, simply tap on the photo to open in fullscreen, and expand the top-right menu. If the photo is stored locally, and the photo has been backed up, the Free Up Space option will be visible. 

 

To delete the local version of the photo, choose Free Up Space in the expanded menu. Then confirm the delete by pressing Free Up Space.

 

Using the Free Up Space feature on all photos stored on the device 

To free up space for all your local photos and videos that have been backed up, simply go to Settings and press the "Free Up Space on device" option under "Device Storage".

 

The app will calculate the number of files and megabytes that can be deleted. To free up space, simply select FREE UP SPACE in the confirmation dialog.

 

When prompted by iOS if you want to delete the photos from the phone, press Delete.

Free Up Space and iCloud

Using the Free Up Space feature will delete photos from your local device. If you have enabled iCloud Photo Library on your iOS device, the photos and videos you delete from the device will also be deleted from your iCloud account.

Live Photo and Photo Burst

The Free Up Space feature does not work on photos that was taken with the iOS feature Live Photo or Photo Burst.

Var denne artikkelen nyttig?
2 av 3 syntes dette var nyttig

Har du flere spørsmål?

Send en forespørsel

Kommentarer